Categories
Uncategorized

I was dizzy as I walked in midst of the caravans, noise….dust and laughter of children playing with old rotten pots. I could here the music playing.I see their colorful skirts swinging to the rhythm of the sounds, sounds that called me from afar .

Ta DA da ta ta DA….
DA da ta DA da ta …..

I walked amongst them. ‘The party’ but they were to busy to notice me , different, head sunk, dark and gloomy .
Their colors blinded me, the flashes from the iron their men used to make the melodious sounds, the sharp colors of their ladies skirt. Their ran across from one stall to another almost pushing me down in their excitement. Jingling anklets on their feet, but I trodded on….. Almost invisible through the carnival .
I was hungry with only two pennies left so I stopped to buy bread then the dark old shop caught my eye.
It was old and dusty, with rotten black bell hanging over, the sign was faded and covered in black smoke, all the shop was almost like it survived a fire. There was a window, dimly lit by a candle. My eyes was captivated long enough to decipher the sign. I had barely gone through the first word and off I ran, sauntering across the play kids…leaving the little bread seller in awe, the people looked up for a bit as ran across like light

this was what I had been looking for

As I got closer, I slowed down and smoothened my clothes, it had been a rough journey

I see her eyes , peering deeply in my soul as she took the pennies from my thin hands. She had magical green eyes that could pierce any hard ground . i knew she read my soul.
My eyes looked into her as she performed her magic:
a mirror,
two nails ,
a length of rope
and some cards.

Ouch!”  I cried as she yanked of a bunch of my hair,
You have a strong soul. I’ll need that to focus. Place your palms here.“….she commanded and stretched forward her hands, they were rock hard and dirty.
my mind wandered off for a bit, I thought the always read palms…. Life line, death line and all lines…..I’m already here and I must know.
Her voice came strong, harshly bringing me to awareness of where I was, but yet I was in a trance

” i see light at Tommorow, but RUN! You must. Rest is near. fear fire and never forget the dangers of water, go on but rest is near.”

“Hold on to love but use hate as an anchor lest you drown
Never forget everyday is yours. Love ,riches and peace would find you when you take the right part”

The silence cuts in…..and slowly I realize my session is over.
I am confused…these are not the words I hoped to hear .

BUT RUN I MUST……until they find me.

I’m awakened by loud blaring horns.
I am not among the gypsies or locked in a witch’s coven as she tells my fortune
Its afternoon in Lagos….I had been lost in a day dream as I read the pages of A BIBLE!

Leave a comment